Wednesday, 04 August, 2021
In Stepanakert:   +20 °C

2020 Aurora Humanitarians Announced

2020 Aurora Humanitarians Announced
Saturday, 25 April, 2020, 14:00

On April 24, 2020, on the Armenian Genocide Remembrance Day, the Aurora Humanitarian Initiative hosted an online discussion to honor those who perished a century ago and celebrate modern heroes, including those fighting the global outbreak of COVID-19. In accordance with the symbolic traditions upheld by the Initiative for many years, Aurora revealed the names of 2020 Aurora Humanitarians, chosen by the Aurora Prize Selection Committee for their courage, commitment and impact.

Lord Ara Darzi, Chair of the Aurora Prize Selection Committee, took the virtual stage to announce the 2020 Aurora Humanitarians: Fartuun Adan and Ilwad Elman, Angélique Namaika, Sophie Beau and Klaus Vogel, Sakena Yacoobi.

On behalf of the survivors of the Armenian Genocide and in gratitude to their saviors, an Aurora Prize Laureate is honored each year with a US $1,000,000 award and a unique opportunity to continue the cycle of giving by supporting the organizations that have inspired their humanitarian action. The 2020 Aurora Humanitarians have nominated the following organizations:

· Fartuun Adan and Ilwad Elman – Love Does, Panzi Foundation and Prajwala;

· Angélique Namaika – Invisible Children and Caritas Internationalis;

· Sophie Beau and Klaus Vogel – SOS MEDITERRANEE;

Sakena Yacoobi – Afghan Institute of Learning, Creating Hope International and Women’s Refugee Commission Inc.