Friday, 03 July, 2020
In Stepanakert:   +22 °C

Kurdish MP chairs first session in Armenian Parliament

Kurdish MP chairs first session in Armenian Parliament
Wednesday, 16 January, 2019, 13:10

Kurdish MP Kinyaz Hasanov chaired the first session of the new parliament in Armenia following the general elections held on December 9, 2018.

According to Armenia’s laws, the oldest member of the parliament chairs the parliament until a Parliamentary Speaker is elected. Hasanov, being the oldest MP, has chaired sessions before as well.

In the early elections of December 9, 2018 in Armenia, Nikol Pashinyan’s “My Steps” bloc came first after winning 70.4% of the vote. Two more parties entered the parliament, while the winner of the previous election former President Serzh Sargsyan’s party wasn’t able to cross the election threshold, leaving the party outside the parliament.

Ararat Mirzoyan from the “My Steps” alliance was elected Parliamentary Speaker in yesterday’s session.